Last Words

If I died, would you cry?
Tears streaming down your innocent, little eyes?
The corpse before you cold and still,
Never again to move at will.

Will your thoughts move from your trembling gaze,
Picking at yourself and beating away?
Of all the regrets long past,
That will never find a final path,
Can you forgive me as I stay?

When I said goodbye, I remember you waved and said, “Alright!”
But now that face has died, a pale, blank expression with your eyes,
A face I left to see as my soul tore away from me.
Now words cannot be said,
And sins bear me down the dark path,
As you weep over my body and cry aloud,
“Please come back to me!” With the shrill of a sound.

For as many times as you like you cry,
“I’m sorry, please forgive me!”
But no answer comes and the stars burst alight,
Your tears still streaming down as the moon opens its eye,
To join in your suffering of all regrets past,
And to weep with the sun until my body turns to ash.

The last simple words were not complex enough,
And I simply washed them away like table-top dust,
But now I understand how much they moved,
And I pray that is enough to calm you,
So from beyond the grave I whisper my last words.

“I love you.”

About Grim Meteor

Hello. I write, stream, read, dream, and uh, do other stuff. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Prose and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

